Nagaland University

Nagaland University, the 13th Central University and the only Central University in Nagaland was established based on the Act of Parliament of India and received the assent of the President of India on 20th October 1989.

The University came into being on September 6, 1994 having jurisdiction over the entire state of Nagaland. Earlier it had its campuses in North Eastern Hill University (NEHU), with Kohima designated as one of the campuses of NEHU along with SASRD-Medziphema. With the establishment of Nagaland University, the two erstwhile campuses inherited from NEHU as well as the colleges affiliated to it fell within the jurisdiction of Nagaland University. 

All the new departments had to be located at Lumami and started functioning with Kohima still as the interim Headquarters. 

At present the University has four campuses, viz.
  • Headquarters at Lumami in Zunheboto district 
  • Kohima Campus at Meriema in Kohima district 
  • Medziphema Campus (School of Agricultural Sciences and Rural Development) at Medziphema in Dimapur district and 
  • a temporary campus at Dimapur with two Schools (School of Engineering & Technology and School of Management Studies).
There are 37 departments offering Undergraduate and Postgraduate and Ph.D. programmes in different disciplines of Arts, Commerce, Sciences, Agricultural Sciences, Engineering & Technology and Management streams. There are 65 colleges from all over the state of Nagaland currently affiliated to Nagaland University.

Objectives of Nagaland University

  • to disseminate knowledge by providing infrastructural and research facilities in such branches of learning as deemed fit;
  • to make provision for integrated courses in humanities, natural and physical sciences, social sciences, agricultural science, forestry, engineering and other disciplines in the educational progammes of the University;
  • to take appropriate measures for promoting innovations ion teaching-learning processes, inter-disciplinary studies and research; to educate and train manpower for the development of the state of Nagaland;
  • to pay special attention to the improvement of the social and economic conditions and welfare of the people of the state, their intellectual, academic and cultural development.

Schools in Nagaland University

  • School of Agricultural Science and Rural Development
  • School of Engineering and Technology
  • School of Humanities and Education
  • School of Management Studies
  • School of Sciences
  • School of Social Sciences

Courses Offered at Nagaland University

School of Sciences

Lumami Campus
  1. Anthropology (M.Sc)
  2. Botany (M.Sc and Ph.D)
  3. Chemistry (M.Sc and Ph.D)
  4. Environmental Science (M.Sc)
  5. Forest Science (M.Sc)
  6. Geography (M.Sc and Ph.D)
  7. Mathematics (M.Sc)
  8. Physics (M.Sc and Ph.D)Zoology (M.Sc and Ph.D)
Kohima Campus
  1. Geology (M.Sc and Ph.D)

School of Social Sciences

Lumami Campus
  1. Economics (M.A and Ph.D)
  2. Political Science (M.A and Ph.D)
  3. Sociology (M.A and Ph.D)
Kohima Campus
  1. Commerce (M.Com and Ph.D)
  2. History & Archaeology (M.A and Ph.D)

School of Humanities & Education

Lumami Campus
  1. Mass Communication (PG Diploma)
Kohima Campus
  1. Education (M.A and Ph.D)
  2. English (M.A and Ph.D)
  3. Hindi (M.A and Ph.D.)
  4. Linguistics (M.A and Ph.D)
  5. Psychology (M.A and Ph.D)
  6. Teacher Education (M.Ed)
  7. Tenyidie (M.A and Ph.D)
  8. Centre for Naga Tribal Language Studies (PG Diploma)

School of Agricultural Sciences & Rural Development

Medziphema Campus
  1. Agri Chemistry & Soil Science
  2. Agricultural Economics
  3. Agri Engineering
  4. Agri Extension
  5. Agronomy
  6. Livestock Production & Management
  7. Entomology
  8. Genetics & Plant Breeding
  9. Rural Development & Planning
  10. Horticulture
  11. Plant Pathology
  12. Soil & Water Conservation

School of Engineering & Technology

Dimapur Campus
  1. Agri Engineering & Technology (B.Tech.)
  2. Biotechnology (B.Tech.)
  3. Computer Science & Engineering (B.Tech.)
  4. Electronics & Communication Engineering (B.Tech.)
  5. Information Technology (B.Tech.)

School of Management Studies

Kohima Campus

  1. Management (MBA)

Nagaland University Application Process

All the eligible candidates will be able to apply online for admission to various courses offered by Nagaland University. For that, candidates must have to visit the university official website - and fill up application form in online mode.

To know more about How to write online application successfully, click here.

Nagaland University Contact Details

Nagaland University
Lumami, Zünheboto District,
Nagaland, India

Connect me with the Top Colleges